Connect with us


Full list of Ryder Cup captains for Team USA and Europe: Past, present and future




The Ryder Cup is over a year away, but news just came out that Keegan Bradley will be the next US captain. Is there any bigger honor than captaining one of the two sides? Whether you lead Team U.S.A. or Team Europe onto the course, it’s a privilege like no other.

The Ryder Cup and how captaincy works

With the first edition of the Ryder Cup having been staged in 1927, it’s been almost a century since the best players on either side of the international divide have taken on each other for the title in this biennial tournament. Indeed, every other year, the best male, professional Golfers from Europe and the United States face off in this match-play contest, with each team led by its captain.

Regarding how captains for either side are selected, the DP World Tour also known as the European Tour selects the captain for Team Europe, while the PGA Tour of America chooses Team USA’s captain. Each captain is then allowed to pick his own assistants, as well as several members of the team. It’s worth noting that the large majority of Ryder Cup players are selected automatically based on the points they’ve accumulated in the official world ranking list. In the 96-year History of the tournament, Walter Hagen was the man who has been captain the most times having led Team U.S.A. in six different editions.

Ryder Cup Captains: The full list

*Please note that a “w” next to a captain’s name indicates that he was the victor, however, if no “w” follows either name it indicates that the tournament ended in a draw.*

YearTeam EuropeTeam U.S.A.
2025Luke DonaldKeegan Bradley
2023Luke Donald (w)Zach Johnson
2021Padraig HarringtonSteve Stricker (w)
2018Thomas Bjorn (w)Jim Furyk
2016Darren ClarkeDavis Love III (w)
2014Paul McGinley (w)Tom Watson
2012Jose Maria Olazabal (w)Davis Love III
2010Colin Montgomerie (w)Corey Pavin
2008Nick FaldoPaul Azinger (w)
2006Ian Woosnam (w)Tom Lehman
2004Bernhard Langer (w)Hal Sutton
2002Sam Torrance (w)Curtis Strange
1999Mark JamesBen Crenshaw (w)
1997Steve Ballesteros (w)Tom Kite
1995Bernard Gallacher (w)Lanny Wadkins
1993Bernard GallacherTom Watson (w)
1991Bernard GallacherDave Stockton (w)
1989Tony JacklinRaymond Floyd
1987Tony Jacklin (w)Jack Nicklaus
1985Tony Jacklin (w)Lee Trevino
1983Tony JacklinJack Nicklaus (w)
1981John JacobsDave Marr (w)
1979John JacobsBilly Casper (w)

*Please note that prior to 1979, the teams were the United States and, from 1973-77, Great Britain and Ireland; or, prior to 1973, Great Britain.*

YearTeam Great Britain & IrelandTeam U.S.A.
1977Ryan HuggettDow Finsterwald (w)
1975Bernard HuntArnold Palmer (w)
1973Bernard HuntJack Burke Jr. (w)
1971Eric BrownJay Hebert (w)
1969Eric BrownSam Snead
1967Dai ReesBen Hogan (w)
1965Harry WeetmanByron Nelson (w)
1963John FallonArnold Palmer (w)
1961Dai ReesJerry Barber (w)
1959Dai ReesSam Snead (w)
1957Dai Rees (w)Jack Burke Jr.
1955Dai ReesChick Harbert
1953Henry CottonLloyd Mangrum (w)
1951Arthur LaceySam Snead (w)
1949Charles WhitcombBen Hogan (w)
1947Henry CottonBen Hogan (w)
1937Charles WhitcombWalter Hagen (w)
1935Charles WhitcombWalter Hagen (w)
1933J.H. Taylor (w)Walter Hagen
1931Charles WhitcombWalter Hagen (w)
1929George Duncan (w)Walter Hagen
1927Ted RayWalter Hagen (w)