Connect with us


Who is on the 2024 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot? Who are the 12 newcomers?




The Baseball Hall of Fame ballot is a key component of the annual election process to determine which baseball players, managers, umpires, and executives will be enshrined in Cooperstown, New York National Baseball Hall of Fame.

The process of getting into the Hall of Fame

After retiring from professional baseball, players become eligible for the Hall of Fame ballot after a period of five years. To qualify for this, a player must have played in at least ten major league seasons and been retired for at least five years. This waiting period is put in place to allow for a more thoughtful assessment of a player’s overall career.

The members of BBWAA who meet certain criteria, including having ten consecutive years of BBWAA membership, are eligible to vote. The Hall of Fame ballot is given to the qualified voters, including the names of players, managers, umpires, and executives eligible for induction.

Voters are given specific instructions to consider a player’s overall contribution to the game, which includes their playing ability, integrity, sportsmanship, character, and contributions to their team(s). A player must receive votes on at least 75% of the ballots cast to be elected to the Hall of Fame.

The results of the Hall of Fame election are typically announced in January. The players who receive the required 75% or more votes are elected and officially inducted into the Hall of Fame in a ceremony held in Cooperstown.

While voters can select up to ten players on their ballots, they are not required to use all ten slots. The ten-player limit is implemented to prevent ballot overcrowding and encourage voters to focus on the most deserving candidates.

Who’s on the 2024 Baseball HOF ballot?

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America released the official ballot for the 2024 Baseball Hall of Fame. Twelve new players have joined the 14 holdovers from last year’s ballot who received the minimum 5% support required for another year of consideration and still have not completed their 10 years on the ballot.

Among the holdovers, Todd Helton (72.2%), Billy Wagner (68.1%), and Andruw Jones (58.1%) received the most votes but fell short of the 75% required for induction. Gary Sheffield (55.0%) will be closely watched in his 10th and final year of eligibility.

The voting results for the 2024 Hall of Fame class will be announced on January 23.

Who are the 12 newbies to the ballot?

Among this year’s yield of newcomers, Adrián Beltré has a chance to be a first-ballot selection. At the same time, Joe Mauer and Chase Utley should also receive solid support with an opportunity to climb toward the 75 percent threshold in the coming years.

José Bautista, Bartolo Colon, Matt Holliday, Adrián González, Victor Martinez, Brandon Phillips, José Reyes, James Shields, and David Wright are the other rookies up for debate.