Connect with us

Technology

iOS 17's NameDrop feature sparks privacy concerns

Published

on

/ 8486 Views

The latest iOS 17 update brings a new feature called NameDrop, enabling iPhone users to share their contacts by bringing their devices in close proximity.

The feature received some backlash when it comes to privacy and safety. As per users, NameDrop is enabled by default and the feature presents a safety threat, particularly to children.

The feature is crafted for seamless contact sharing, but it incorporates precautions to prevent accidental information sharing. Simply tapping two iPhones together doesn't trigger NameDrop as confirmation on the iPhone's display is required. Users must confirm both sharing and receiving contact information. Despite fearmongering in viral posts, the iPhone needs to be unlocked with Face ID, Touch ID, or a passcode for NameDrop to function.

Read More TikTok obtaining Indonesia e-commerce permit

Users can disable NameDrop by opening the Settings app, tapping the AirDrop option and switching off the toggle next to "Bringing Devices Together."

It's important to note that disabling this feature not only turns off NameDrop but also disables the ability to share photos and videos by tapping two iPhones together. In iOS 17.2, there isn't a separate toggle for NameDrop yet.

Trending