Connect with us


MLS Best XI announced: which team has the most players?




MLS has released the 2023 Best XI, recognising the top performers in the league this season.

Eight members of the 11 are making their first appearances in a Best XI, while Nashville stalwart Walker Zimmerman is named in the team for the fifth time.

This year there are four teams with two players in the XI: Atlanta United, FC Cincinnati, Nashville SC and St. Louis City. Here’s the full team for 2023...

MLS Best XI 2023


  • Roman Bürki, St. Louis


  • Matt Miazga, Cincinnati
  • Tim Parker, St. Louis
  • Walker Zimmerman, Nashville


  • Luciano Acosta, Cincinnati
  • Hany Mukhtar, Nashville
  • Héctor Herrera, Houston Dynamo
  • Thiago Almada, Atlanta United


  • Dénis Bouanga, LAFC
  • Giorgos Giakoumakis, Atlanta United
  • Cucho Hernández, Columbus Crew

The team includes a number of other MLS award-winners. Luciano Acosta was named MVP, Denis Bouanga won the Golden Boot and Giorgos Giakoumakis was awarded Newcomer of the Year. Unsurprisingly, the Defender of the Year (Matt Miazga) and Goalkeeper of the Year (Roman Bürki) are also in the team.

MVP Luciano Acosta keeps his place

Cincinnati captain Luciano Acosta has been one of the undisputed stars of MLS this season, leading his team to a Supporters Shield title and the Eastern Conference final. The Argentine playmaker has racked up a league-leading 136 goal involvements (58 goals, 78 assists) since making his MLS debut in 2016.

Luciano Acosta was announced as the winner of the Landon Donovan MLS MVP award earlier this week.
Full screen
Luciano Acosta was announced as the winner of the Landon Donovan MLS MVP award earlier this week.Aaron DosterUSA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con

Acosta is making his third appearance in the MLS Best XI, one of three members of this year’s team to have featured previously. Hany Mukhtar has also now been selected three times, while Walker Zimmerman is making his fifth appearance.

Who votes for the MLS Best XI?

The team is selected each season based on the votes of MLS players, club technical staff and members of the media. The voting takes place towards the end of the regular season, meaning that the selection does not take playoff performances into account.