Connect with us


Who are the past winners of Jack Nicklaus’ Memorial Tournament?




Dubbed one of the premier events in the world of Golf, the Memorial Tournament takes place every year in late May or early June. Renowned for attracting the most prominent names in the sport, this tournament holds significant prestige and boasts a generous purse, along with valuable FedEx Cup points.

This year’s tournament will be played across 6 - 9 June with a total prize purse of $20 million. This makes it one of the most lucrative of the 47 official PGA Tour comPetitions.

Utilising a four-round stroke play format, the tournament introduces a cut after the second round to determine which players will advance to the weekend rounds. Distinctive among PGA Tour events, the Memorial Tournament is granted ‘invitational’ status, joining an exclusive group of only five tournaments. This dictates that participation is limited to a field of 120 players.

Which golfers have won Jack Nicklaus’ Memorial Tournament?

This year’s is the 49th edition of the Memorial Tournament, initially founded by golf legend Jack Nicklaus in 1976. This prestigious gathering serves as a heartfelt tribute to the sport’s revered figures. Here’s a look at the famous names that have triumphed at Muirfield Village Golf Club in recent years...

Jack Nicklaus’ Memorial Tournament: Recent winners

  • 2023 - Viktor Hovland, 281 (-7)
  • 2022 - Billy Horschel, 275 (−13)
  • 2021 - Patrick Cantlay, 275 (−13)
  • 2020- Jon Rahm, 279 (−9)
  • 2019 - Patrick Cantlay, 269 (−19)
  • 2018 - Bryson DeChambeau, 273 (−15)
  • 2017 - Jason Dufner, 275 (−13)
  • 2016 - William McGirt, 273 (−15)
  • 2015 - David Lingmerth, 273 (−15)
  • 2014 - Hideki Matsuyama, 275 (−13)

When examining the tournament’s rich History, several Golfers have left an indelible mark by claiming multiple victories. Tiger Woods dominates the list with five wins, securing the title in 1999, 2000, 2001, 2009, and 2012. Notably Woods holds the record for the largest margin of victory after an astounding seven-stroke victory in the 2001 edition.

In second place is Kenny Perry with three victories, triumphing in 1991, 2003, and 2008. Jack Nicklaus, Hale Irwin, Greg Norman, and Tom Watson each have two wins at the Memorial Tournament. The winner of this year’s Memorial Tournament will bag a cool $4 million first prize.