Connect with us


How much prize money does the winner get at the DP World Tour Championship?




The DP World Tour Championship’s 15th edition is taking place at the Earth Course of Jumeirah Golf Estates, marking the end of the season-long Race to Dubai. The championship culminates a year-long battle among the best golfers in the world, with the winner crowned the season’s champion. This year, the winner of the Race to Dubai has already been confirmed - Rory McIlroy secured the Harry Vardon trophy a week before the championship.

McIlroy had a highly successful season on the Tour, including victories in the Dubai Desert Classic and Genesis Scottish Open. He has been a dominant force on the Tour for years, and his latest win is his fifth overall, making him one of the most successful players in the Tour’s history. He also holds the record for the highest career earnings in the DP World Tour, with €50,582,631.19 in prize money.

The DP World Tour Championship is one of the richest golf tournaments in the world, with a prize purse of $10.5 million. The championship winner will receive $3 million, while the runner-up will receive $1.5 million. Additionally, the winner of the Race to Dubai will receive a bonus of $2 million from the Race to Dubai bonus pool of $5 million.

Although the prize money for McIlroy’s fifth win is yet to be confirmed, the previous four winners received approximately $2m from the Race to Dubai bonus pool.

Prize money at the DP World Tour Championship

The 2023 DP World Tour Championship features several big names like Rory McIlroy, Jon Rahm, and Matt Fitzpatrick. The players will go up against each other for that winner’s paycheck of $3,000,000. This is the standard 16 percent of the total prize money, at $10.5 million, a 5% increase compared to last year.

Apart from the prize money, the champion Golfer will also get 22 OWGR points and 2000 Race to Dubai points from the 12,000 on offer. This will help decide the winner of the season-long Race to Dubai. The Golfer winning the Dubai event will also get a two-plus season exemption on the European Tour.

After the event, the top five players in the Race to Dubai standings will get paid from the circuit’s bonus pool.